FACULTY SENATE MEETING MINUTES

North Carolina A&T State University Academic Classroom Building (A101) Tuesday, September 27, 2016 3:00 p.m.

Dr. Tony Graham, Chair Presiding

Senate Members Present: Geleana Alston, Barbara M. Butler, Temeka Carter, Sungjin Cho, Robert Cobb, Jr., Devona Dixon, Angel Dowden, Dwedor Ford, Roger Gagnon, Jorge Gaytan, Tony Graham, Julius Harp, Gwendolyn Highsmith-Quick, Abebe Kebede, Joshua Kirven, John Kizito, Gary Lebby, Anna Lee, Ahmed Megri, Gregory Meyerson, Cephas Naanwaab, Andrea Ofori-Boadu, Elimelda Ongeri, Thomas Redd, Kaushik Roy, Derick Smith, Octavious Spruill, George Stone, David Tidwell, Li-Shiang Tsay, Jenora Waterman.

Departments Not Represented: Agribusiness, Applied Economics and Agriscience Education; Natural Resources and Environmental Design; Management; Chemical, Biological and Bioengineering; Computational Science and Engineering; Industrial and Systems Engineering; Administration and Instructional Services; Educator Preparation; Nursing; History; Energy and Environmental Systems; Applied Engineering Technology.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Tony Graham.

Roll Call

Approval of Minutes

It was properly moved and seconded to approve the August 23, 2016 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes. The motion carried.

Senate Welcome Dr. Tony Graham

Dr. Graham extended greetings and a warm welcome to everyone. There were introductions of new senators.

Senator Term/Committee Assignments/Meeting Place & Dates Dr. Tony Graham Dr. Graham distributed and reviewed the following handouts: (1) Draft Senate Membership Roster, 2016-2017 with terms; (2) Draft Committee Membership Roster, 2016-2017. Dr. Graham asked that the rosters be reviewed carefully. Any concerns and/or corrections should be communicated to the Senate Office. All standing committees are expected to meet throughout the year. Committee meetings are held at the Senate House, 201 Nocho Street, Campus. The Senate's administrative staff is available on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays to facilitate the meetings. The Provost's office has provided funding for refreshments.

New Programs and Curricula Report

Dr. Sheila Whitley

Dr. Whitley brought to the floor one (1) proposal package that was discussed in the New Programs and Curricula Committee meeting on September 13, 2016. It was properly moved and seconded that the proposal be approved as presented. The motion carried. The proposal is as follows:

1. Family and Consumer Sciences. One (1) undergraduate 120-Credit Hour Curriculum Guide

Dr. Whitley stepped down from the New Programs and Curricula Committee effective August 2016, but conducted the September New Programs and Curricula Committee meeting since there was one package and a new chair has not been selected. The committee needs a new chair immediately. Dr. Graham extended thanks and appreciation to Dr. Whitley for her outstanding service to the Faculty Senate. She has served as Chair of the New Programs and Curricula Committee for the past four (4) years.

Welfare Committee Dr. David Tidwell

Dr. Tidwell presented the following resolutions from the Welfare Committee for approval: (1) Resolution to Endorse UNC Faculty Assembly Resolution 2016-3, "On Recognition of the Analysis of Findings and Recommendations Regarding NC Guaranteed Admission Program (NCGAP)", and (2) Resolution to Reaffirm University Non-Discrimination Policies and Endorse the UNC Faculty Assembly Resolution 2016-1, "On Legislative Abrogation of University Responsibilities". After discussion, it was properly moved and seconded that resolution number one (1) be approved. The motion carried with two abstentions. Upon additional discussion, it was properly moved and seconded that resolution number two (2) be approved as presented. The motion carried.

Nomination Committee Dr. Julius Harp, Co-Chair and Dr. Gary Lebby, Co-Chair

Faculty Senate 2016-2017 elections (by ballot count) were held for Chair of the Faculty Senate, Secretary of the Faculty Senate and Faculty Assembly Delegates. Senators were elected as follows:

Faculty Senate Chair, 2016-2018 – Dr. Dwedor Ford Faculty Senate Secretary, 2016-2017 – Dr. Cindy Waters (Alternate Senator) (The Secretary position has been vacant since 2015.)

The election for Vice Chair of the Senate will be held at the October 25th Senate meeting. The Vice Chair is scheduled to serve one term, 2016-2017, due to the non-election of a Vice Chair during the 2015-2016 academic year.

Faculty Assembly Delegation:

Dr. Gregory Meyerson

Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr.

Dr. Julius Harp

Dr. Galen Foresman (Alternate Senator)

Dr. Abebe Kebede, Alternate Delegate

The Senate received a motion that was properly moved and seconded recommending to the Provost and Chancellor, (as submitted by college deans), faculty to serve on the Faculty Hearing & Reconsideration Committee, 2016-2017 and the Faculty Grievance Committee, 2016-2017. The motion carried. The memberships are as follows:

Faculty Hearing and Reconsideration Committee, 2016-2017

College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Mr. John Robinson College of Business and Economics Dr. Katherine Cort College of Engineering Dr. Shamsuddin Ilias College of Education Dr. Robin Liles College of Health & Human Sciences Dr. Evelyn Hoover College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences Dr. James Steele College of Science & Technology Dr. Alexandra Kurepa Nanoengineering Dr. Ram Mohan **Library Services** Ms. Francene Moore

Faculty Grievance Committee, 2016-2017

College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences
College of Business and Economics
College of Engineering
Dr. Benjamin Gray
Dr. Isaiah Ugboro
Dr. Vinayak Kabadi

College of Education Dr. Stephen McCary-Henderson College of Health & Human Sciences Dr. Chiquita Welch-Brewer

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

College of Science & Technology

Nanoengineering

Library Services

Dr. Faye Maor

Dr. Mingxiang Chen

Dr. Lifeng Zhang

Mr. Octavious Spruill

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

NEXT MEETING: October 25, 2016 at 3:00 p.m. in Academic Classroom Building (A101)

Nina R. Ingram Recorder